I love my Mommy


10262202_10151970566541065_8015400375749091423_n

Happy Mother’s Day to the best Mommy a daughter could ever be blessed with! Not only is she my Mommy, but she is also one of my closest friends and my sister in Christ. Though we’ve been through some pretty rough times, God has protected us so much and has brought us closer to Him and each other in many ways. I’m still surprised at how alike we really are! But the older I get, the more I am happy that I’m becoming more like my Mommy because I do more things that remind me of her!

Just last night I had a longing for my Mommy that comes every time I’m sick or feeling blue. She was always there for me, and still always is. I love her more than words can describe. I miss those times we would dance to the credit songs of movies, or the times we created our own musicals as we cleaned the house or cooked together, the hundreds of times my friends would ask if we could go to my house because my mom was just so cool and fun to be around, the awesome birthday parties she would cater to our liking, the patience she granted to us even though she always had bad headaches, the values she taught us about how important family is, the warm embraces she gave to comfort me after the death of a pet, the encouragement she gave to pursue my dreams, the times she came to school with me for “bring your parent to school day” and my classmates thought she was a new student and not my mom, how she trusted the Lord to take care of me through my various mission trips overseas, how we would sing “You’ve Got a Friend” by James Taylor while waiting for the doctor in the doctors office, how she believed me when I told her about my dad and walked through the difficulty of that situation with me, and even the times she would get frustrated at my rebellion in wearing non-matching socks everyday on purpose.

She will always be my Mommy and I’ll always be her Alleycat.

Happy Mother’s Day! I really wish I could be there in Pennsylvania with you to celebrate!

2 thoughts on “I love my Mommy

Leave a comment