28 Days and Counting


DSC_0355     I am finding, as I am in the final month of preparing for marriage, that I have a hard time knowing when to rest and when to run. I am one of those people who will burn the candle at both ends, especially when there is something that really needs to get finished. This is sometimes a good thing, like when I have a deadline that needs to be met and not much time to complete the task at hand. Other times, if over a prolonged period of time, I will burn myself out and either get sick or be in a state of emotional and physical uselessness.

The Lord is so gracious. This past month, there were a few moments of panic and stress, but always the Lord used it to show me that even if I have plans all set, He is the One who knows the beginning and end. One quote from Ender’s Game that gave me an “aha-moment” was “The *way* we win matters”. This reminded me of something that I already knew, but had forgotten in the midst of my crazy life.

“’Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,’ Says the LORD of hosts” – Zechariah 4:6

This made me stop and think. Why am I getting married to Tim? It’s all for the glory of God, and to make His name known through the whole world and to reflect His relationship with His church to everyone around. Yes, I love Tim. Yes, he is my best friend and I want to spend the rest of my life here on earth with him. But the real reason we are getting married isn’t to have a fantastic wedding. It’s not to fulfill needs that we think we have. It’s not because we have all the answers and are prepared 100% for married life. That’s ridiculous.

I’m very thankful that the Lord continues to slow me down to remind me that He’s got this under control. He brought Tim and me together and I don’t have to worry about what flowers will be in the reception, or the color of my dress. All that matters is that Christ stays the center of our relationship and we are so filled with His Spirit that He can touch hearts through our covenant of marriage to each other.

Two sinners, united as one before God, on a mission to spread His love through the nations. That is the beauty of marriage. Yeah, that’s easier said than done, but I believe God will continue to grow us in His likeness and I pray He uses us to reach those who have yet to hear His name.

Leave a comment